Skip to main content

Forums / Games / Halo Infinite

F2P games disguising bots as real players

OP NeverNotKicking

I recently started playing the game Splitgate, which just launched on consoles. I was having a good time with it, particularly because I felt like I was really good at it. My KD ratio was extremely high. It was very satisfying.

Then I found out that the game was actually tricking me by matching me against bots. The bots all had normal-looking usernames and player icons and everything. It was tricking me into thinking I was playing against humans, specifically so that I would feel like I was good at the game. Realizing that the game was doing this made me feel insulted and really disrespected.

I know this has been a thing in mobile games for a while. PUBG Mobile is known for doing this. But this is the first time I've seen this kind of scummy behavior in a console game. This makes me concerned that we might start seeing more console games do this in the future, if it hasn't already started happening already.

I really hope that more awareness is brought to this unfortunate trend. And I REALLY hope that 343 doesn't try doing this in Infinite. It's such a disrespectful way to treat your players. 343, please don't do this in Infinite.
I recently started playing the game Splitgate, which just launched on consoles. I was having a good time with it, particularly because I felt like I was really good at it. My KD ratio was extremely high. It was very satisfying.

Then I found out that the game was actually tricking me by matching me against bots. The bots all had normal-looking usernames and player icons and everything. It was tricking me into thinking I was playing against humans, specifically so that I would feel like I was good at the game. Realizing that the game was doing this made me feel insulted and really disrespected.