Skip to main content

Forums / Games / Halo Infinite

What do you guys think of the view on anti cheat

OP surfer45

1. 1
  2. ...
  3. ...
  4. 2
"We felt like we had to make an anti-cheat solution that doesn’t get in the way, doesn’t root your machine, doesn’t block your legitimate applications – we want the most unobtrusive thing possible that ensures a safe way for everyone to play together."

"Our anti-cheat philosophy is to make cheating more difficult in ways that don't involve kernel drivers or background services. We've done a lot of work securing the Slipspace engine and developing novel ways to protect and change the game to slow down cheat development."

I'm no expert on anti cheat, and I've never used hacks before. But this seems like its going to backfire so hard. I understand their sentiment in not using intrusive anti cheat. I know its impossible to say there won't be hackers, to "slow-down" cheat development seems to give a slap of reality when they say they aren't using anti cheat. I dont want no slap of reality til I play.

I dont know what else they are planning, but CSGO had a pretty good way of handling it, where you had to play a certain number of games or get to certain level to play with prime players, and prime player couldnt que up with non prime (unless someone in your lobby doesn't have it). I played one non prime game instant blatant hackers (mostly just in competitive tho)

There was another game as well, maybe CSGO again, where they had a reputation system, since reporting can take a long time, someone with lots of reports would play with other reported people.
Its abusable unfortunately it could go the other way too with good reports.

I believe in the skills of the security team, but it will never be perfect, so having alternatives is nice too, whether its a reputation system, or play with other people past a certain level, so when people do inevitably hack and sneak by can hack in their own infernal playground
surfer45 wrote: