Forums / Games / Halo Infinite

"WHY SO BUGGY!!!" - A QA guys prespective

OP Tophat TNT

1. 1
  2. ...
  3. ...
  4. 2
There is a lot of panic and worry about the quality of the visuals and performance for Halo Infinite and I wanted to add some of my personal perspective to the situation.

I'll try to avoid anything speculative, since I don't know what exactly happened that led them to show the vertical slice that they did, and does not do much for the discussion besides endless worry for something we cannot control. This is just an educative view on how wacky game development can be and that 343i is far from being abnormal. This is not to shame people who do express their own opinions on how they felt towards what they showed, but I hope it provides some useful nuggets of knowledge that you may use to better empathize with the staff at 343i.

Who am I?
  • My day job is working in the QA department of a global AAA game publisher, by night I develop indie games.
Why does my perspective matter?
  • Because I see lots of AAA games in their worst state throughout the latter half of their development, and I've enjoyed the fun involved with shipping my own games, though not to nearly the same scale. This does not make me the authority of all things game development and is still just a single perspective
So, what is some of the wackiness of game development?

Games can look and perform terribly for 90% of their development