Skip to main content

Forums / Games / Halo Infinite

Zoom Cancelling

OP swaggymcdudebro

What do yall think about the zoom dis-engage during fights in Halo 5? I recently started playing again and can say this is one mechanic I am not fond of. To be specific I am talking about when you are in a fight zoomed in shooting at someone and you get peppered by a few shots and immediately your zoom pulls out. I hope this doesn't come back. Thoughts?
The descope mechanic exists to give shorter range weapons a chance to fend off longer range weapons. For example, it enables a player with a BR/DMR to move against a faraway sniper without having the odds just completely stacked in favor of the sniper. It's a useful mechanic for sandbox balance. Halo 4 tried to get rid of it, people hated it, and now we're back to descope.

I can totally see why some people would dislike descope, especially if they're not used to it. I think everyone's made their fair share of mistakes with it. However, unless somebody can come up with an alternative that accomplishes what descope does while being less annoying, descope should stay.
This post has been edited by a moderator. Please do not call out individuals. This includes forum members, moderators, administrators, and non-forum members.

*Original post. Click at your own discretion.
Spoiler:
Show
This post has been edited by a moderator. Please refrain from making non-constructive posts.

Spoiler:
Show
This post has been edited by a moderator. Please do not post about forum moderation decisions. If you have a question or concern about a forum moderation decision, please private message the applicable moderator.

Spoiler:
Show