Forums / Games / Halo Wars 2

How hard are RTS games?

OP Shout of Gaia

Lame question, I know. But part of the reason I avoided halo wars 1 (apart from being a 10 year old who thought any game besides a shooter was lame) was because I was intimidated by the RTS play style it was so radically different from any game type. I would like to play it too, because I really like how the story seems to be shaping up and how much it could impact in halo 6. But, I'm also tempted to just watch it on youtube. So, should I buy it, being a complete newbie to RTS?
Play through the campaign. It's the best and easiest way to learn how to play an RTS, and that specific game's style of play in particular.

RTS campaigns generally ease you into the experience and teach you the basics during the early missions and then grow your basic skills as the missions progress.
I was going to reply to this earlier but the forums were bugging out.

Playing a RTS is different then playing alot of other games it relies more on your mental skill then your reflexes but having both obviously helps.

But with practice and playing the campaign like stated prior you will learn the basic skills of RTS gameplay.
Just get hw1 and play threw the campaign and do a couple skirmishes with the bots to get a feel for the game. It's dirt cheap now anyway. Granted hw2 is changing up the formula quite a bit you can atleast get understand the basics
not hard at all, or atleast no more then any other kind of game
Halo wars 2 is a fairly simple game, just as is its predecessor. It will be an odd shift from the fps playstyle, but as your "first" rts, it shouldn't be too hard as long as you do the campaign/some skirmishes. Don't jump right to the big titles of rts though, those will be hard (but they're on pc and not xbox so don't worry about it)