Forums / Games / Halo 5: Guardians

Why does Halo 5 have bad graphics?

OP total war1402

1. 1
  2. ...
  3. ...
  4. 2
I am not an expert on this.

But, I don't get how they can reskin Halo 2 Anniversary and have it look much better than Halo 5. Especially the environments and texturing. But Halo 5 has really small maps and bad textures despite being a newer game. How can you have issues running big maps if you can reskin Halo 2 and have it run on the Xbox 1? What exactly are they doing that eats up so much of the engine?

Is this something to do with the engine and technology they are using? Shouldn't Microsoft have given 343 the resources to keep pace with their competitors? I mean I just assumed Microsoft gave them a blank cheque. But Halo 5 is really far behind other triple A titles.
Well, Halo 5 runs at 60fps. That's not typical for the Xbox One (until recently). I honestly think the game looks fine though.
Halo 4 says hi.

To me Halo 5 is the best looking Halo game graphics wise, the reason it may look bad is just because of the textures they use.
PurityGuy wrote:
Well, Halo 5 runs at 60fps. That's not typical for the Xbox One (until recently). I honestly think the game looks fine though.
Don't COD, Battlefront, Battlefield and all other big games have that as standard now?

I really disagree. Some levels (The Breaking) looked awful and even simple stuff like rendering individual Spartan models in multi looked real bad.
Ya there isn't really anything wrong with the graphics
Halo 2A doesn't have better textures . I agree that Halo 5 isn't very good and there are better games out there (Overwatch is gorgeous) but the thing you said is wrong. Battlefront is not solid-60 fps and it runs at 720p all the time , same COD (single player) .
Halo 5 is really ugly at times.

I mean look at the grass. This is literally a Halo game in 2015-2016. Wtf is going on with that grass?
jayman567 wrote:
Halo 4 says hi.