Forums / Games / Halo: The Master Chief Collection (Xbox)

Is it just me, or does Halo 3 on MCC feel off?

OP Dr Robaldnik

1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. ...
  6. 4
So I know I might get the inevitable comments telling me to just "git gud" at the game, but I will risk it, seeing as how I want to know if anyone else has shared the same experience as I have. Halo 3's multiplayer gameplay in the Master Chief Collection feels different. Something feels off about it, and I'm not an expert on video game programming, but I'll try to explain the best I can to why it feels off. I've played a few social game matches of Halo 3 Slayer yesterday, and to put it simply, the hit detection is bad. I can't seem to damage my opponents enough before they kill me. I know there's the whole "projectile based aiming system" in Halo 3, and I'm able to do pretty well if I lead my shots in the original Halo 3, but even if I do manage to lead my shots and hit the enemy, it seems like my bullets do less damage than they're supposed to, and sometimes I swear that I shoot an enemy enough to get the kill, yet he get's away. Like, I shoot a spartan in the back with a battle rifle ten times and still don't get the kill, yet if I get shot, I die very quickly. I've heard somewhere (I don't remember where, a video I think) that hit detection in Halo 3 online multiplayer is determined by player internet connection. Is this true?

As a side note, I do decently playing multiplayer matches in other Halo games on MCC, yet when I play Halo 3 I just outright suck.