Skip to main content
For me Its the prophets. They just scoot around in there chairs touching Unngoys, abusing power when they physically cant lift a paper weight. Yet somehow they convince even the most powerful such as brutes to fight along there side. If not any of these post honorable mention that I missed.
Prophets when I think halo bad guys I immediately think covenant. And the covenant are led by the prophets.
In my experience as a writer, I have discovered that a good villain is made when you are able to sympathize with them. The Prophets and Ripa Moramee were just radical, Tartarus was a sociopath swayed by lies, and the Gravemind was just pure, unadulterated evil. Don’t get me wrong, all of these characters were top notch villains, but here are my top three:

3. Atriox
At first, you are made to think that Atriox is just an angry Jiralhanae that has a passion for blood sport, but his backstory reveals something more tragic. He hates the Covenant for what they did to his pack. They sent them to die over and over and over again. One day, as anyone would, he snapped, and the best part is, you can understand why. I would have him higher on the list, but unfortunately we haven’t had much time with him. Hopefully he’s developed in more in future games.

2. Guilty Spark
Guilty Spark is a poor sap who is just trying to follow orders. Activate the rings, contain the Flood. Unfortunately, this big green dude keeps getting in his way, and destroying the thing he’s supposed to protect and curate. Oh, he killed Johnson? Wouldn’t you? The man is about eliminate your sole purpose in life. Sometimes drastic measures need to be taken.

1. Didact
“The Mantle of Responsibility for the galaxy shelters all, human. But only the Forerunners are its masters.”
-Ur-Didact.