Forums / Games / Halo: Reach

Any tips for Halo Reach?

OP Geth Pathfinder

Short history: I have played every Halo game to date but didn’t get Xbox Live until 2016.

I know I’m a little late but any tips to do better in BTB? I have been playing Halo 4 BTB, which I’m good at but for some reason I can’t get the hang of Reach. I am bad at using the DMR, only half my shots seem to hit, yet everyone else can shoot me across the map. I would use the AR in Halo 4 but it has horrible accuracy in Reach. Is there any type of rank system in Reach or is it purely random who I get matched against? I thought I would enjoy Reach since it’s a lot like 4 but I seem to play like a complete noob. Any advice on weapons, how to use the DMR, or anything else would’ve appreciated.
-Slow your shots down with the DMR. The reticle bloom is something you'll need to get used to.

-If you're playing with a friend on Hemorrhage, one of you grab the Revenant and the other grab the sniper rifle and ride shotgun. The hitbox, for whatever reason, is STUPID BIG when using the sniper in the passenger seat. Watch this video and you'll see what I mean. Honestly, there's no cheating or mods involved here. It's just the way the hitbox is. It was hilarious because back in the day when Halo Reach was popular, I used to get all sorts of hate mail because people thought I was cheating. LOL! A guess it was something Bungie just didn't catch and never really fixed before leaving Reach.

-The only ranking system Halo Reach has is in the Arena. It was season based somewhat similar to how Halo 5 is but the seasons were longer. Everything else is basically social slayer. If you really want to know where you sit at, HaloTracker.com tracks stats of Halo Reach to a certain point. Here is where your stats currently are according to Halo Tracker

-Learn how to use the Banshee. I've seen some players who are incredibly skilled with the Banshee and can inflict damage and rage like you wouldn't believe.