Skip to main content

Forums / Community / Halo Universe

Wasn't the Domain destroyed in Halo: Silentium?

OP ley machine57

Has this been discussed? Was it just lazy writing? Or was the flood-infected essence of Forthchenko simply lying when he told the Librarian that firing the Halo array would destroy the Domain (Halo: Silentium)?
Sorry if this question's been posted, I've been travelling for the last 6 months.
That's one of the biggest mysteries right now. No one has an explanation for why the Domain is around. Was it really destroyed competely? Was it just damaged? If so, who/what fixed it? Is this really the same Domain? Point being there's no explanation currently.
As far as we know right now, it's just lazy writing.
It was addressed in the intel. "Organon gone, Domain in ruin. So much lost..." pqraphrasing. Cortana repairs the domain. But everything that was stored there, all Forerunner knowledge, is apparently lost.

It's definitely not clear what exactly happened but we can guess until Tales from Slipspace.
The domain may have been created by the Precursors. Once the Halo array fired, it may have been incapacitated. It is also stated the the domain seems to have a will of its own, so not much is understood about it.
I've been running with the theory that it is a flood domain. I assume at least some data about the domain was stored before the fall of the forerunner, if so naturally MB would have told the GM about it before their fall. Could it be possible that the original GM, with the knowledge of the precursors, was able to create their own "domain" as a fall back plan. It seems that the GM's have plenty of time on their hands so maybe it was a long term fallback plan MB and GM used as an contingency for if the Halos were successfully used? It fits in nicely with the Cortana logic plague theory. All conjecture but I like my theory. Haha