Skip to main content

Forums / Community / General Discussion

How has getting older physically affected playing?

OP Me Da Uber Pwnr

1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. ...
  5. 3
I was just wondering if anyone else has noticed any problems as you are getting older, in your playing? I'm not technically old, I'm just 30, but with that being said, I notice things changing. For instance, my vision, and noticing things at a slower rate. It's either that, or my brain works slightly slower than it used to, when seeing/ pulling the fire trigger. The change I notice isn't like some crazy amount, from year to year, but say it's only 1%, that's still a 10% decrease the last 10 years 😑... I wondered if I was crazy, so I googled it. As it turns out, I'm not lol, Here's a really cool article someone did on aging & gaming. On a side note, also as I get older, my drive to play competitively, is basically non-existent. I don't believe that has anything to do with age, but more to do with how all my friends quit playing Halo/ migrated to other franchises.
Mostly for me it is my reflexes, responses and reactions are slower but that might be due to the meds I am on more so then age. I was diagnosed with ADD and anxiety so multiplayer is an overwhelming and overthinking stress fest.
Only thing I noticed was on rare occasions my finger will hurt from holding the controller.
BIGB EC wrote:
Mostly for me it is my reflexes, responses and reactions are slower but that might be due to the meds I am on more so then age. I was diagnosed with ADD and anxiety so multiplayer is an overwhelming and overthinking stress fest.
I get that man, it could be a mix of both honestly. I used to rarely have a bad day every now and then on halo. Now days, I rarely have a truly good day 🤣
LUKEPOWA wrote:
Only thing I noticed was on rare occasions my finger will hurt from holding the controller.