Forums / Community / General Discussion

Is multiplayer getting too competitive?

OP Koontzie97

I'm a college student, exams are coming up next week, and after a long week of assignments, studying, and working I decided to take a break and play some slayer. I'm a platinum rank in slayer- and I wish I wasn't. Playing slayer on platinum is ridiculously competetive; everyone rushes for power weapons, camps with weapons such as the shotgun or scattershot, or just walks around with nothing but the pistol (don't get me started on the pistol). Now, I'm not ashamed to admit that these players are better than I am, they've clearly perfected the way they play. The only reason that I'm platinum is because I played so much slayer for the first two weeks after Halo 5's release. So my plans to relax for a bit and enjoy some Slayer has just turned into me getting even more stressed out than I already was and furious at the fact that I can't walk two steps without someone killing me, it's like a swarm of sharks fighting over chum! Seriously, I don't think I've raged so much at multiplayer before this, and that's not why I want to play Halo, I want to play it because I want to enjoy it and have a temporary escape from responsibilities. So my question to all of you is, do you feel that after a certain playlist rank that players are more competitive? Although this isn't going to make me give up Halo (nothing ever will), I still feel that something like this should be addressed for those of us who just want to casually play online and not competetive like MLG players do.
Bring action sack back!
I miss the more casual days of Halo, like Reach.
Theres no reason you can't enjoy the game by playing, you sound like you are too concerned with winning other wise you wouldn't care
Play how you want to play. If you're consistently getting beat, you should eventually drop down in rank to where matches are more even, right?
LO0 wrote: