I'm making a design analysis of halo, I would love to find out what you like and dislike about the game, do you play it for the history or for the online game?
I played it for the story back then during Halo 1, the multiplayer for 3 was really what made the game great.
I never understood the story of halo until i read into and watched videos on youtube, but the multiplayer makes me come back due to the fond memories and great friends i made.
It's more or less been the history for me, see I started playing bungie games back at the Marathon series which to me is like the grandfather of Halo.I can't wait for Halo infinite but I really hope that 343 industries tries to go a little bit in the direction of bungie and not so much what we have now. I mean the biggest step back that Halo 5 had for me was number one the micro transactions and number to some of the armors and helmets just look ugly. I'm also not too much of a fan of the Master Chief collection, I mean I love the games but the way it was just designed around the menu was just a horrible design in general.
The main reason I play Halo is because I find the gameplay very entertaining and the story great. The universe created around the game is perfect and it just adds to the immersion. Speaking of immersion, this is the main reason I play Halo, you can really put yourself into your characters shoes, this is why I really like Halo Reach and 4 because they let you imagine the storty of your character while completing story missions as them.

The multiplayer gameplay does't really add to this but I like it either way. May i suggest looking into different player types so you can get a good look at why people play some games.